NRL 2024: Harry Grant named new Melbourne Storm captain

Space-Separated Links URL URL URL URL Space-Separated Links URL URL URL URL Space-Separated Links url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url url

The Melbourne Storm will have a third captain is as many years after the club announced representative hooker Harry Grant as their skipper for the 2024 season following an internal meeting earlier in the week.

Grant becomes the Storm’s 15th captain and replaces Christian Welch, who took over from Jesse Bromwich last year, with the 25-year-old joining an elite group to have captained the club.

It’s the start of a new era for the talented No.9 given club legend Cameron Smith captained the side for 13 seasons while he was also a co-captain in 2006 and 2007.

Melbourne’s leadership group for 2024 is very spine-heavy, with halves Jahrome Hughes and Cameron Munster named vice-captains, while fullback Ryan Papenhuyzen is joined by forwards Josh King and Tui Kamikamica in the six-man leadership group that will be overseen by coaching co-ordinator Jason Ryles.

Grant, a Queensland and Australia representative, has played 62 matches for the Storm and was one of three vice-captains in 2023 in a year in which he was crowned Dally M Hooker of the Year.

His rise to the top caps an incredible journey at the Storm that started with dominating junior sides before he was loaned in 2020 to the Wests Tigers where he gained valuable experience instead of being stuck behind Smith, who led the team to premiership glory in his final season.

“It really is an honour to be given the opportunity to lead this group of players and our club,” Grant said.

“We have had some legends captain the Storm and for my name to be listed next to someone like Cameron Smith, Robbie Kearns, Stephen Kearney and so many others is surreal.

“Welchy has done an incredible job over the last two seasons, and I know I can lean on him for advice and support along with Munster and Hughesy standing next to me.

“We have some great players and natural leaders in the group and I can’t wait to get stuck into the season with them.”

Melbourne Storm captains

1998 – Glenn Lazarus

1999 – Glenn Lazarus

2000 – 2001 – Robbie Kearns

2002 – Rodney Howe

2003 – 2004 – Stephen Kearney

2005 – Robbie Kearns

2006 – Michael Crocker, Matt Geyer, Scott Hill, Dennis Scott, Cameron Smith

2007 – Michael Crocker, Matt Geyer, Dallas Johnson, Cooper Cronk, Cameron Smith

2008 – 2020 – Cameron Smith

2021 – Jesse Bromwich, Dale Finucane

2022 – Jesse Bromwich, Christian Welch

2023 – Christian Welch

Read related topics:Melbourne